free web site hit counter

Download PDF Books

The History of British Women’s Writing, 1920-1945

The historical period from 1920 to 1945 is coterminous with the great achievements of literary Modernism dating approximately from the annus mirabilis of 1922, which saw T. S. Eliot’s The Waste Land and James Joyce’s Ulysses, to the publication of Joyce’s Finnegans Wake at the apex of ‘high Modernism’ in 1939. The majority of women whose work is discussed in volume eight of The History of British Women’s Writing series do not fit into a recognized version of the modernist canon. Their…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chaucer’s Decameron and the Origin of the Canterbury Tales (44) (Cha…
Previous post
Naguib Mahfouz’s Egypt: Existential Themes in His Writings (Contributions i…
Next post